Assessment Training

sol March 9, 2016

Today was a good day.

Are you confused by my title and my opening statement? Assessment training turned my attitude right around and I am proud to say it!

I left school yesterday hunched and defeated. I left feeling like I have nothing left to give. The kids are pushing back soo hard. The rigor is very tough, tough on them and tough on me. They DO NOT want it. They are digging their heals in and it is so draining.  But then there was Assessment training.

This was a voluntary training for a team of teachers that should help look differently at assessments. (I do look at assessments differently, I really do.) But today was different. It opened my eyes to say, take a deep breath and keep on fighting.

Fixed mind versus Growth mind. I have so many kids who feel defeated before they start and I need to meet them where they are. It is time to ask the big questions, where are you and where are you going next?

So much to internalize but we walked away with one thing to think of until next time:

If we were given a situation where there were no grades and the kids could come and go as they pleased but the rigor would still be the same, what would the classroom look like?

Is he trying to lead us to a point? Is he trying to guide us to individual learning plans? In a public school? Get rid of bells  and get rid of grades? Would kids even come?

So many thoughts but as of now, I am ready for tomorrow. I cannot wait to dig in again and all I needed to do was take a step back and breath.

Today was a good day.

5 thoughts on “Assessment Training

  1. There is nothing as motivating as great professional development. I’m so glad it was a positive experience. Enjoy tomorrow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

