Procrastination

sol March 12, 2016

It is 12:15 pm on a beautiful Saturday. The sun is shining, the birds are chirping, the grass is.. brown, but really there are specks of green. I have a plan for this beautiful day.. Work on my SMART Board training lesson  for a presentation in April. I have to do that and sell tickets for the play. That is all. Very important.

So, I got up early today and I took my morning walk. I wanted to get it out of the way and also to get energized for the day. It was glorious.  Barney, my faithful boarder collie, loved it. He was able to run and play and really enjoy the quiet morning. The wind was calm and pleasant. The snow banks melting at a rapid rate as well. I got up for the walk and gave strict orders to myself to get back from the walk and start the lesson.

When I returned from my walk, I made the coffee, sat down to the computer and… started to calculate ticket sales (not make the smart board lesson.) Wow, did you know that our opening for the past 4 years has varied by 10 tickets total. That is consistency! After evaluating the sales and another cup of coffee in hand I started to check flights for my son’s possible trip to Tennessee for a summer camp. Did you know that it is $200 cheaper to fly from Chicago then from Milwaukee?

Well, enough and now on to the Smart board lesson. But wait, my college daughter is calling! So much to talk about, so many plans, so many exciting things and she is coming home next week!! And then my son comes home and into the conversation! Great family time, even if it is over the phone. At this point I realize that my spring break clothes need to be organized as I am leaving in 2 weeks!! But I did take my school computer out to plug in for the Smart Board lesson.

Then it is off to the bank, I mean it closes in 30 minutes and I need to get some things done. Just can’t wait. Finally when I return, it is time to sit down and start working, but first I need to check Facebook. Lots is happening in my friend world and I need to check it out. This leads me to realize that I have to still write my slice.

It is 12:45 pm (it took me 30 minutes to write this list of tasks- oh wait I had lunch, checked Facebook again, applied for a job..) on a beautiful Saturday. My plan is to complete my SMART board lesson and sell ticket at 5pm. At this rate, I think that I might get half of my goal done today.

They say that writers are the worst procrastinators. I guess I am upholding the name.

6 thoughts on “Procrastination

  1. I got up early to plan my math lessons for next week. It’s almost 8:00 and now I’m commenting on Slice of Life–still haven’t done anything with math. You are speaking to me. 🙂 (But I’m still going to go read a couple more slices.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

